3260 6th Street Drive NW | Hickory, NC 28601 828-324-5405

HCA House System

House Goals

1 Corinthians 12: 4-6 states, “There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but in all of them and in everyone it is the same God at work.”

Anchored in this truth, the House System was spawned in 2017 to provide rhetoric students with intentional and consistent opportunities to forge relationships with one another, support one another’s gifts and abilities, and work together to serve their school and local community for the glory of God.

Developing leadership skills is another critical goal for the House program. Twenty-four official House leadership positions exist across the six Houses, and various other informal leadership opportunities arise for members through the course of the year. Monthly House leadership training sessions, day-to-day coaching, and on-the-job training are essential components of their experience as these student leaders engage in their respective roles and duties.


Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors are intermingled into six Houses which meet during the school day most Fridays. Each House is led by four student leaders who plan activities, lead weekly meetings, publicize and promote House events, and recruit and encourage participation.

A fun part of the House program is the friendly inter-House competitions that help students bond and identify with their assigned Houses. Competitions include fun activities such as dodgeball games, attendance competitions at school events, and canned food drives for community service organizations. House points are earned for different levels of success at these various competitions, and an overall House champion is announced at the conclusion of each school year.

2020-2021 House Leaders








Anna DeVries

Gracie McGrath

Emi McEwen

Chase Collins

Sarah Puryear

VP of Activites

Nick Harding

Anna Sipe

Liza Robertson

Ariel Robinson


PR Manager

Ana DeCoe

Peyton O’Neal

Nani Ly

Grace Ann Beatty

Seoyeon Song


Keaton Stephens

Dylan Morrison

Amelia Chapman

Savannah Pope

Braden Runyon